⌨ Labor omnia vincit ☮

Linux Presentation Day + Leap 42.1 release party in Munich

Posted in Events, openSUSE by anaumov on 16.11.2015

On Saturday we had the openSUSE Leap 42.1 release party in Munich, which I announced a couple of days ago. We had around 20 participants there: about 10 openSUSE users and also about 10 GNU/Linux users from the Linux Presentation Day – people that just started using Free Software and wanted to know more about openSUSE, GNU project, Open Source in general and of course celebrate with us the new release🙂

But at the beginning I had no idea where we can meet in Munich. On Wednesday I asked in our German ML about location and Marcus advised Linux Presentation Day. Two minutes later I sent email to Linux Presentation Day event’s organizers and asked about separate room with beamer and power sockets. We got everything what we asked about. Thanks a lot for collaboration!

After that, on Friday (when I was sure about location and room was reserved for us) I come to Nuremberg to take openSUSE promotion material like USB flash sticks, DVDs, stickers, green “Leap” T-shirts and openSUSE beer. It’s not so far away from Munich. I think, about half of eighth I was at SUSE Office and Richard gave all “release party stuff” (last time, when I organized openSUSE 12.1 release party in Göttingen, I got all these stuff via post, with the exception of beer of course).

I had a talk about openSUSE project in general: the talk was targeted primarily for those who never heard about OBS, Leap or openQA. I tried emphasized the role of the community in openSUSE project.
I got many questions about systemd, SUSE impact on the openSUSE and quality of the “Enterprise Core” part which will be used in the Leap. I enjoyed talking with many that showed up and received as main feedback from many of those that I talked with.
If you’re going to invite “everybody” to your release party, you don’t need to talk so much about infrastructure or development model of openSUSE, I guess. That’s important and interesting for developers and Free Software evangelists maybe, but not for users, who are still not sure about contributing. For such users it’s more important how good this version as a desktop system than how easy to use submit request in OBS or which programming language should they use for implementation of tests for openQA or something like this.

By the way, at Linux Presentation Day we met one journalist from linux-user.de. So, I think my post will not be the only one about this event🙂

I want to thank Richard and Doug for openSUSE stuff, Linux Presentation Day organizers for hosting us in the VHS building and… thanks to all who joined us! See you next time and have a lot of fun🙂

more photos.

Leave a Reply

